top of page

Eportfolio+ COVA: The Big Picture

Updated: Jun 19, 2020

I recently read an article by Dwayne K. Harapnuik titled How to Succeed in the DLL Program. The article begins with explaining a necessary shift in focus for educators.  Harapnuik (2020) suggests a necessary shift in focus from content delivery to authentic learning.  This shift in focus allows for changes to improve learning environments and educational systems that will help learners become the leaders of tomorrow.  This article goes on to discuss how this shift in focus can be accomplished with the implementation of COVA, giving learners choice, ownership, voice, and authentic learning opportunities.  This done in a significant learning environment that the instructor has created with the needs of the learner at the center of the focus.  Other articles relating to this topic by Harapnuik I read are The Minimalists Fundamentals of eportfolios, What is an eportfolio, and Making Meaningful Connections in an eportfolio all center around, and discuss the meaningful purpose of an eportfolio. 

I understand an eportfolio to be a road map of leaning.  The eportfolio in the DLL program empowers learners to take charge of their own learning and bridge these meaningful connections.  The eportfolio provides a format for myself, or any learner in the program to demonstrate and showcase the level of meaningful connections the learner has been able to accomplish.  I plan to keep my focus through this process on showcasing my authentic learning experience in my eportfolio as a model for others and developing ways to create authentic learning experiences for my students and maintaining my focus on authentic learning and the use of CSLE+COVA models.  There are many links and a mountain of information in these articles to go over.  Focus, is the theme or the main connection I make from my readings and videos in these articles.  These articles have helped me put my focus on a big picture look at creating authentic learning opportunities in a significant learning environment with the learners needs at the center where the learner has choice, ownership, and a voice.  This is an empowering experience and I am glad I get to experience it myself so I better understand it when I use it to help learners prepare to be leaders of the future.


Resources


Harapnuik, D. K. (2020) Its All About Learning: How to Succeed in the DLL.  http://www.harapnuik.org/?page_id=7165

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Succeeding in the DLL Program

A need to see the big picture is what Harapnuik (2020) references to be successful in the DLL program. Harapnuik (2020) points to the learning environment that has been created for participants to b

bottom of page