top of page

Why Use an Eportfolio

Updated: Jun 19, 2020

I see an eportfolio as putting your work to work for you. Dr. Harapnuik (2020) suggests it is an investment in your self. I believe my opening statement in this post demonstrates I agree. We spend so much time learning, studying, and reading. During the Covid 19 shut down I have worked to make the best use of my time and work on new hobbies. I have recently started a garden and I am learning how to grow productive tomatoes, peppers, onions, corn, and other plants. I have also been learning to bar-b-que by using a small smoker to grill different meats such as chicken, turkey, brisket, and ribs. I use these as examples of learning in things I am passionate about. These passions could very well be included in an eportfolio. I could show a history of my learning and share that with others. I could share it with my kids to pass the knowledge on. I think for many years families have built portfolios of pictures and videos. We usually here them called family albums or home videos. These could also be considered family portfolios. Now in the digital age it is even easier to compile our thoughts, learning, adventures, and experiments in a digital easy to share platform.


An eportfolio is a great way to share your experience and knowledge. As a professional it is the perfect tool to show a future employer your skills and knowledge. It demonstrates what you can bring to the company in such an easy to understand format. Imagine how an employer would have to contact so many people and ask so many questions to determine if you were what they are looking for and are right for the position. You create a valuable head start for yourself against any competition by making the process so much easier for the prospective employer.


Resources

Harapnuik, D.K. (2020, May 25) LMD EP30 Eportfolio Why. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=4&v=hx304CW-gKU&feature=emb_title

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Succeeding in the DLL Program

A need to see the big picture is what Harapnuik (2020) references to be successful in the DLL program. Harapnuik (2020) points to the learning environment that has been created for participants to b

bottom of page